Something Good

You know that other teacher who got to take her baby home?   She has an etsy shop where she sells greeting cards.  Today she approached me and offered to make memorial cards with Greyson’s name on them for Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness Month coming up in October.  They will have a little pin attached that people at school can wear for the month.  Now I feel badly for rejecting her son’s fundraiser.  And I was sort of sassy about it.

She started out by pulling me into my classroom and asking a bunch of questions.  I’m afraid I acted weird because I didn’t know where she was going with it.  I cried when I finally got the drift. 

Sometimes it feels as though everyone has forgotten or that people are just completely insensitive.

Just this morning I had a preggo teacher approach me with a shower invitation and then complain that she just wasn’t “the type” to open gifts in front of people and proclaim each thing “so cute”.  I wanted to say that I never got to experience that because MY baby DIED.  I just told her I’d get her a gift card and she didn’t have to say it was cute.  The invitation hit the trash right after she hit the door. 

But I guess maybe some people don’t mean to be insensitive.

And I guess some do remember.

PS…I don’t know how etsy shops work but if you visit her’s, of course, don’t mention me since she would croak if she read some of the  stuff here.

4 comments on “Something Good

  1. I always hope most people don’t realize they are being insensitive, but then that worries me too because I wonder about all the things I’ve possibly been insesitive about and not realized it. Yikes.

    I think that was a nice thing for her to do.

    I didn’t realize there was a month for us. I’m not sure what I’m going to do about it. I don’t want to just forget my losses.

  2. Oh Paige, I love what that teacher did…how kind of her to remember you even in her distraction (as only those new moms can get). Didn’t realize there was a month either, kind of nice as it gives us a bit of legitimacy, from the fertile crowd that is.

  3. Glad that something good has happened. It is pretty touching when people remember and reach out.

    I don’t think most people mean to be insensitive (although I admit I have the urge to kick that pregnant teacher in the shin). I think some of that comes from how self-involved we are society-wide.

    I also think that most people probably remember, but just don’t know what to do about it (and therefore end up doing nothing).

  4. Ok, her Etsy shop is mostly wedding crap. Oooops, did I just say that? I am glad that she was able to show you that she remembers and that she cares. I agree with the others that most people are probably not even aware of how self-centered they can be. I agree with Jen though- we need to do something with the pregnant teacher- maybe some “special brownies” or we can just pull a Tonya Harding.

Leave a Reply

