MA’s Triplets

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about MA.  We were in the same Sunday school class and the same grade in school.  I’ve known him since I was born and even though we never really see each other unless we bump into each other around town I feel as though he’s a life-long friend.   Anyway, his wife had breast cancer 2 years ago and beat it.  About 6 months ago she had breast reconstruction and everything seemed good.  It looked like she was going to be able to see her triplets (by IVF) graduate, get married, etc.

About two months ago, she started having terrible back pain.  After a chiropractor and other tests and doctors, they’ve found the cancer is back with a vengeance.  It’s metastasized to her liver and other places.  She’s in a lot of pain and terminal but starting chemo so she can at least have one last summer with her children.

It’s heartbreaking.   My heart really goes out to MA and the children.  It’s unthinkable that grade school age children are going to watch their mother be eaten alive by cancer and then, ultimately lose her and have to grow up without her.

God’s ways are so mystifying to me.  Why did she get cancer and have to be separated from her children?  Why did my child have to be separated from me?  Why didn’t I get that cancer so I could be with mine and she could stay with hers?   Understand I am NOT saying this from a place of sadness, depression or even grief.   I’m NOT wishing for cancer AT ALL.  I just think about MA and those children every day and wonder what purpose could there be for him to have to raise those children without a mother and what purpose does it serve for a mother to sit here and write this without her child?   It just really makes one wonder about the plan.

5 comments on “MA’s Triplets

  1. Things like this make me think there is no plan, that it’s all just randomness. It’s not a comforting thought, but it’s the only thing that makes sense to me.

  2. I can’t believe that any of this is in God’s “plan.” That is not a god I can believe in and I always want to smack people who says things are for “the best” and other crap like that. I agree with Jen that sometimes things are just random and sad.

  3. When I see in the paper that a young person has died I often wonder why I’m still here. I understand where you are coming from too and wonder about the fairness in it all.

  4. Pingback: MA’s Wife | Tears, Tantrums and Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

