Em

I finally emailed my cousin and asked her if she would be willing to become an egg donor for me.  I’ve been fretting over this for weeks if not months.   I spent a long time composing this email in my head.  When I sat down to write, it came out of me very quickly and I thought was quite simple:

“Em,
At one time you generously offered to be a pregnancy surrogate for me and I talked to the doctor about it.  He said my uterus is perfect but that my own eggs are almost nonexistant and I won’t be able to get pregnant with them in future tries.  I was wondering if you’d consider becoming an egg donor for me.  I know it’s a lot to ask of you. 

If you think it’s something you’d be willing to consider I can send you a few links with information.  It would start with an evaluation with blood work and a trans-vaginal ultrasound to see if you’d be a good donor.   I will be real with you and tell you if the evaluations shows you’d be a good donor and we go ahead with it, iit wouldn’t be an easy thing and would include a few weeks of injectable medications and an outpatient procedure with a day or so recovery.   Also, a meeting with a lawyer but I don’t know yet what that part would entail. 

But, Em, it would literally mean the world to me.  Hard to convey all the emotions involved….

If it’s something you wouldn’t be interested in that it totally ok too.  I can understand and appreciate any response you may have to this awkward email.  It was hard to write but either way I know you are a special person and I just thought it wouldn’t hurt to ask family for help in creating the family I desperately want. 

Take some time to think about it and don’t hesitate to ask any questions. 

Love,
Paige”

She texted me within an hour that she was willing.

And just that fast my life is on a different path….

Or is it really the same path???

19 comments on “Em

  1. Wow! It took a lot of courage to ask and I am so glad your cousin is willing to do this for you! While the path may look different, the journey is similar and the destination the same. May hope continue to grow with each step you take.

    Thinking of you!

  2. I’m so very proud of you for asking her. It takes a lot to have the strength to ask this of someone and how absolutely wonderful she is willing to go through with it. Keeping my fingers crossed for good news and praying for you!

  3. This is awesome!! That was such a beautiful, honest letter! I am so thrilled that she is willing to do this for you! So happy for you!

  4. That is awesome! So happy for you Paige! I did not comment on your previous post, but you will make an awesome mother. The only ingredient that matters is love, and you have that in spades.

  5. Funny, I was wondering today why you hadn’t talked to your cousin about this. I came to your blog & see this post. Good for you! Happy that a new path seems set before you.

  6. Wow Paige, I really need to read more often, I was pretty behind! Lol – what refreshing and exciting news this is!!!! I can understand how it feels good to share with others, but how it could be hard disappointing them too, I had similar feelings when deciding whether to share our upcoming cycle with our family and friends. Either way, it’s all good, they will want to be there for you regardless of the outcome. I have a good feeling – perhaps Em’s optimism is contagious!!! Xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

