A Thousand Cuts

We’ve formed a little theater club at school and the kids are performing Dr. S.uess’ The L.orax this week.  It’s been so much fun and been so good for me.  I knew from the night of auditions when I smiled more than I had in a long time it would be healing for me.  It was just so good to see the kids working really hard and wanting something so much.  If they were nervous, confident, forgot their lines or whatever, they made me smile.  Working on it the past few weeks has been exhausting but rewarding.  Practice every day after school but it was gratifying to see the production slowly come together with props, scenery etc.

Today was our opening performance for the kindergarteners.   The actors did so well and I was so proud of them.  It was such a good feeling to have the first show be successful and see the kids proud of themselves.

The head director who is our librarian (and Jack and Aaron’s) and whose idea it was to start the theater club got me and our pregnant social worker who have done this with her gifts.  She gave the social worker a beautiful blue baby blanket she or someone had made and a very cute baby book in the style of Dr. S.uess.

She gave me a candle holder.

4 comments on “A Thousand Cuts

  1. I am glad the theater group was fun and made you smile. I am sorry that the librarian gave you such a generic thank-you gift and/or gave such a baby-centered gift to the other lady. In a way I find both inappropriate given the circumstances. She should have looked for something as a personal thank you for each and saved the baby stuff for another time. She just wasn’t thinking. 😦 I’m sorry.

Leave a Reply

