Sessions 3 and 4

Foster Parenting Class.  These sessions brought me down, folks.  Session 3 was about types of abuse and session 4 was about grieving and helping the kids who have lost so much.  This had me revisiting my own grief that I’m still fighting and embracing at the same time each and every moment of every day.  Hearing so much about it and thinking about what foster kids go through even in the mildest of cases had me in a little tail spin.  I’m unsure I have enough to give to these youngsters who are in survival mode.  I don’t know if I can handle their grief and however it might manifest and my own as well.  I’m determined to at least finish the classes and then reevaluate going forward.

Also, while the application for the agency is done and turned in, the application for the state is not and I still need to get a check up and paperwork filled out for that.  I can see, if I do go forward, it will be mountains of paperwork and record keeping.

2 comments on “Sessions 3 and 4

  1. Not everyone is cut out to be a foster parent, myself included. It’s wonderful that you are taking classes and at least exploring the option…

Leave a Reply

